Diaspora Info

Information Everywhere

Meryl Streep Bag Top Spanish Arts Prize

Meryl Streep

Meryl Streep, a three-time Oscar winner, was given the Princess of Asturias Award on Wednesday for her “unforgettable performances” throughout an acting career spanning more than five decades.

The 73-year-old actress’ “successful performances in which she imparts life to richly complex female characters” won plaudits from the award committee.

“The honesty and responsibility she brings to her choice of roles, at the service of inspiring and exemplary narratives, reach out beyond the screen,” the statement continued.

Meryl Streep has appeared in more than 60 films and has become recognizable for characters ranging from a mother who sings ABBA to a Nazi concentration camp victim.

Meryl Streep portrayal of Margaret Thatcher in “The Iron Lady” earned her the most recent Oscar in 2012.

Prior to then, she won for “Sophie’s Choice” in 1983 and “Kramer v. Kramer” in 1980.

The foundation bearing Leonor’s name awards eight prizes each year in the fields of the arts, sciences, and other disciplines, each worth 50,000 euros ($55,000).

Former winners of the arts prize include American architects Frank Gehry and Martin Scorsese, as well as US directors Francis Ford Coppola and Martin Scorsese.

In October, the prizes will be presented at a ceremony presided over by King Felipe VI of Spain and live broadcast on Spanish television.

Leave a Reply

Instagram did not return a 200.
Social media & sharing icons powered by UltimatelySocial