Diaspora Info

Information Everywhere

Erling Haaland Was Awarded FWA Player Of The Year In First Season

Erling Haaland

In his debut year, Erling Haaland of Manchester City won the Football Writers Association men’s Player of the Year title.

Haaland won by a wide margin following a stellar season in which he scored 51 goals and is still vying for the Champions League, Premier League, and FA Cup trebles.

With nearly 82% of the voting, the Norwegian forward won the biggest spot in the English Premier League, leaving Bukayo Saka in the dust.

Martin Odegaard, a fellow Arsenal employee of Saka’s, came in third, followed by Kevin De Bruyne of City and Marcus Rashford of Manchester United.

The Football Writers’ Association award in my first season of English football is an honor, Haaland exclaimed on Manchester City‘s website. “I strive to do my best every single day, so being recognized in this way means a lot to me.

“I’ve enjoyed my time so far at City; my teammates are amazing, and they give me chances to score goals. I want to thank them all because without them, I would not have been able to get this honor.

“I also owe a great deal to Pep and the City organization that supports the team. I have never worked with such excellent professionals, and everyone has been so nice to me since I started,” he remarked.

“I want to thank everyone who supported me. It’s a true honor to have received this recognition. My current priorities are making sure I have a strong season’s end and supporting City in its pursuit of titles.”

Leave a Reply

Instagram did not return a 200.
Social media & sharing icons powered by UltimatelySocial