Diaspora Info

Information Everywhere

Burna Boy Wins 2022 Best African Act At MTV EMA Awards

2022 MTV Europe Music Awards

At the 2022 MTV EMA Europe Music Awards, popular Nigerian musician and record producer Damini Ebunoluwa Ogulu, aka Burna Boy, won the title for “Best African Act” (EMAs).

In the same category as Burna Boy were Ayra Starr, Black Sheriff, Tems, Zuchu, and Musa Keyz.

Following a hugely successful 2022, Burna beat out other nominees like Ayra Starr (Nigeria), Black Sherif (Ghana), Musa Keys (South Africa), and Zuchu (Tanzania) for the accolade, which was announced during the pre-award event.

At the ceremony, which was commence in Düsseldorf, Germany’s PSD Bank Dome, Taylor Swift won four honors. Taylor Swift won the top prizes for “All Too Well (10 Minute Version) (Taylor’s Version),” including “Best Artist,” “Best Video,” “Best Pop,” and “Best Longform Video.”

Nicki Minaj, David Guetta and SEVENTEEN each won two awards. Minaj was awarded best song for “Super Freaky Girl” and “Best Hip Hop”, Harry Styles won “Best Live,” Guetta won best collaboration for “I’m Good (Blue),” a collab with Bebe Rexha, and best electronic. SEVENTEEN won best new and best push.

Harry Styles, who had the most nominations this year with seven, only took home one prize: best live. Due to the pandemic, the category has been absent for two years.

The concert, which included performances by Guetta and Rexha, Muse (best rock), and Gorillaz, was co-hosted by Rita Ora and Taika Waititi (best alternative).

Following a video introduction from the movie’s hero, Tom Cruise, OneRepublic played “I Ain’t Worried” from the hit Top Gun: Maverick. Ava Max, Stormzy featuring Debbie, Gayle, Lewis Capaldi, Tate McRae, Spinall, yanna, Nasty C, Thundercat, and other artists also performed on the show (who performed with Gorillaz).

During the MTV EMA red carpet show, rising West Philadelphia rapper Armani White performed his single “Billie Eilish.”

The best longform video category, won by Swift, and the best metaverse performance category were introduced this year (which went to BLACKPINK).

A special award for Best Look “Personal Style” went to co-host Ora.

Three Ukrainian women — Lina Deshvar, Anna Kutova, and Anfisa Yankovina — shared the MTV EMA Generation Change Award this year for their work advocating for the welfare and rights of individuals affected by the country’s ongoing humanitarian crisis. The honorees were chosen by MTV Entertainment Group in collaboration with Choose Love, a humanitarian organization that supports and advocates for refugees all around the world. This prize was introduced in 2018. The MTV EMA red carpet show featured a presentation honoring the winners.

In addition, the evening featured cameos by Sam Ryder, David Hasselhoff, Julian Lennon, and Lauren Spencer Smith.

On November 13, the MTV EMAs were broadcast on Comedy Central in Germany, MTV’s international network in more than 170 nations, Pluto TV in some areas of the United States, Latin America, and Europe. Starting on November 14, it will be accessible globally via Paramount+ and Pluto TV.

The show visited Germany for the sixth time this year. Executive producers included Richard Godfrey and Bruce Gillmer. Producers included Debbie Phillips and Chloe Mason.

Here is the full list of MTV EMA nominations with the winners indicated:

Best song Nomination

Bad Bunny, Chencho Corleone – “Me Porto Bonito”
Harry Styles – “As It Was”
Jack Harlow – “First Class”
Lizzo – “About Damn Time”
WINNER: Nicki Minaj – “Super Freaky Girl”
Rosalía – “Despechá”

Best video Nomination

BLACKPINK – “Pink Venom”
Doja Cat – “Woman”
Harry Styles – “As It Was”
Kendrick Lamar – “The Heart Part 5”
Nicki Minaj – “Super Freaky Girl”
WINNER: Taylor Swift – “All Too Well (10 Minute Version) (Taylor’s Version)”

Best artist Nomination

Harry Styles
Nicki Minaj
WINNER: Taylor Swift

Best new Nomination

Baby Keem
Dove Cameron
WINNER: Seventeen
Stephen Sanchez

Best collaboration Nomination

Bad Bunny, Chencho Corleone – “Me Porto Bonito”
WINNER: David Guetta & Bebe Rexha – “I’m Good (Blue)”
DJ Khaled ft. Drake & Lil Baby – “Staying Alive”
Megan Thee Stallion & Dua Lipa – “Sweetest Pie”
Post Malone with Doja Cat – “I Like You (A Happier Song)”
Shakira, Rauw Alejandro – “Te Felicito”
Tiësto & Ava Max – “The Motto”

Best live Nomination

Ed Sheeran
WINNER: Harry Styles
Kendrick Lamar
Lady Gaga
The Weeknd

Best pop Nomination

Billie Eilish
Doja Cat
Ed Sheeran
Harry Styles
WINNER: Taylor Swift

Best K-pop Nomination


Best Latin Nomination

WINNER: Anitta
Bad Bunny
Becky G
J Balvin

Best electronic Nomination

Calvin Harris
WINNER: David Guetta
DJ Snake
Swedish House Mafia

Best hip hop Nomination

Jack Harlow
Kendrick Lamar
Lil Baby
Megan Thee Stallion
WINNER: Nicki Minaj

Best rock Nomination

Foo Fighters
Liam Gallagher
Red Hot Chili Peppers
The Killers

Best alternative Nomination

WINNER: Gorillaz
Imagine Dragons
Panic! At The Disco
Tame Impala
Twenty One Pilots

Best R&B Nomination

Summer Walker

Best longform video Nomination

Foo Fighters – “Studio 666”
Rosalía – “Motomami” (Rosalía TikTok live performance)
Stormzy – “Mel Made Me Do It”
Taylor Hawkins tribute concert, Wembley Stadium, London
WINNER: Taylor Swift – “All Too Well (10 Minute Version) (Taylor’s Version)”

Video for good Nomination

Ed Sheeran – “2step” (feat. Lil Baby)
Kendrick Lamar – “The Heart Part 5”
Latto – “P*ssy”
Lizzo – “About Damn Time”
WINNER: Sam Smith – “Unholy” (feat. Kim Petras)
Stromae – “Fils de joie”

Biggest fans Nomination

Harry Styles
Lady Gaga
Nicki Minaj
Taylor Swift

Best push Nomination

Nessa Barrett
WINNER: Seventeen
Mae Muller
Omar Apollo
Wet Leg
Muni Long
Saucy Santana
Stephen Sanchez

Best Metaverse performance Nomination

BTS | Minecraft
Charli XCX | Roblox
Justin Bieber – An Interactive Virtual Experience | Wave
Twenty One Pilots Concert Experience | Roblox

Leave a Reply

Instagram did not return a 200.
Social media & sharing icons powered by UltimatelySocial